Each year, a great deal of time and energy is placed in selecting high quality children's books that meet the specific criteria for non-profit and public organizations in the United States. These book award programs have been collected by the Gelett Burgess Center to enable you a broad selection of "Best of" lists throughout the country. In addition, please find these Children's Book Awards listed by state helpful as well.

Caldecott Honor
Pura Belpre Award
The Golden Kite
Andrew Carnegie Medal
Christopher Award
Children's Literary Classics
Seal of Approval
Independent Publisher Award
Southwest Book Award
Robert Motherwell Book Award
Gourmand World Cookbook Award
Jane Addams Children's Book Award
Green Earth Book Award
Moonbeam Children's Book Award
Norma Fleck Award
Literary Classics Award
Carter G. Woodson Award
Newbery Medal
National Book Award
Amelia Frances Howard Gibbon
Charlotte Zolotow Award
Growing Good Kids Award
Mom's Choice Award
The Odyssey Award
Geoffrey Bilson Award
Schneider Family Book Award
William C. Morris Debut Award
The Americas Book Award
Carter G. Woodson Book Award
Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award
Michael L. Printz Award
Purple Dragonfly Award
William Allen White
YALSA - American Library Association